During the Panathenaic festival, celebrants would carry a new robe to the ancient wooden cult statue of Athena, housed in the Erechtheion. The temple was then more accurately reconstructed. Throughout the centuries, the ...read more, Few monuments in the world are more recognizable than the Parthenon. This Doric limestone building, from which many relics survive, is referred to as the Hekatompedon (Greek for "hundred–footed"), Ur-Parthenon (German for "original Parthenon" or "primitive Parthenon"), H–Architecture or Bluebeard temple, after the pedimental three-bodied man-serpent sculpture, whose beards were painted dark blue.
Hundreds of artisans, metalworkers, craftspeople, painters, woodcarvers, and literally thousands of unskilled labourers worked on the Acropolis. In 480 B.C., the Persians attacked again and burned, leveled and looted the Old Parthenon and almost every other structure at the Acropolis. Farther east lay the Odeum of Pericles, and to the west are traces (420 bce) of the precinct of Asclepius, the god of healing, which took the form of a hospital portico for patients and temples decorated with votive reliefs. It has withstood bombardment, massive earthquakes and vandalism yet still stands as a reminder of the rich history of Greece. Details of the Acropolis, Athens, Greece. The duc de Choiseul, formerly French ambassador in Constantinople, picked up a piece of the frieze and two metopes. A new bulwark named after Odysseas Androutsos was built by the Greeks between 1822 and 1825 to protect the recently rediscovered Klepsydra spring which became the sole fresh water supply of the fortress.
Around 490 B.C., the Athenians started building a majestic marble temple known as the Old Parthenon.  These colonnades were almost finished during 432 BC and had two wings, the northern one decorated with paintings by Polygnotus. At the turn of the twentieth century, restorations began.