Doesn't go anywhere and at 650 pages, it is at least 300 pages too long. Book is great reading. --This text refers to the. Reviewed in the United States on September 9, 2015. This was a wonderful read. Steeple! It flows well and is difficult to put down at times. From the opening line—"Captain Ahab was neither my first husband nor my last"—you will know that you are in the hands of a master storyteller and in the company of a fascinating woman hero. A Fabulous Read. Hello, Sign in. Comment les évaluations sont-elles calculées ? Sometimes my mother and I stood and looked at our faces together in the oval mirror she had brought with her from the East. Una's search for identity brings her friendship with such real life figures as writer Margaret Fuller and astronomer Maria Mitchell, and with such colorful fictional characters as an escaped slave and a dwarf bounty hunter. For me, now, as it ever was in life, at least when he was looking at me alone and had no other person in view, his visage is mild--with a brightness in it, even be it a wild, white, blown-about brightness. A wonderful read. Sena Jeter Naslund is a cofounder and program director of the Spalding University (Louisville) brief-residency MFA in Writing, where she edits The Louisville Review and Fleur-de-Lis Press. Captain Ahab is a fictional character and one of the main protagonists in Herman Melville's Moby-Dick (1851). She makes good choices, makes poor choices. But I wrote him, of course, and sent the letter after him on the ship called the Dove, so he could imagine me aright. Les membres Amazon Prime profitent de la livraison accélérée gratuite sur des millions d’articles, d’un accès à des milliers de films et séries sur Prime Video, et de nombreux autres avantages. Some elements of the novel jar, especially Naslund's tendency to pay rhapsodic tributes to Una's questing spirit; a surfeit of noble, large-souled and amazingly generous characters; and the symmetrical neatness of the plot. Something went wrong. Plot is ridiculous on many counts. --FBI Special Agent Brent Watkins, Cyber Investigations (retired). The classic story that inspired the blockbuster film.

--This text refers to an alternate. (c) AudioFile, Portland, Maine --"Newsday"An intense treat, powerfully written, "Ahab's Wife is one of the best contemporary novels I have read in years." The family she lives with has fascinating, involved conversations and the characters are tolerant, amenable and warm.

And those clouds that did bulge with the image of Ahab show me the map of that state, flat across the bottom and all billowed at the top? Commenté au Royaume-Uni le 23 septembre 2013.
R.A.P. And books, like quilts, are made, one word at a time, one stitch at a time.” ― Sena Jeter Naslund, quote from Ahab's Wife, or The Star-Gazer She gets whaling out of her system early: going to sea at 16 disguised as a boy, Una has her ship sunk by her own monstrous whale, and survives a harrowing shipwreck: That pull of cloud--tapered and blunt at one end and frayed at the other--seems the cottony representation of his ivory leg. Previous page of related Sponsored Products, Starting with the TSA running a black-market Amazon, Adams' unique international adventure is a satire of corruption that will keep you belly laughing. 5 Lives & The Plague: A Short Story Collection, The Last Librarian: A Booker Thriller (The Justar Journal Book 1). Copyright © 1999 Sena Jeter Naslund The home where first I found my body, my feet not so much being pulled into this sandy beach as seeking downward, toes better than roots; then, my mind, built not to chart this blue swell of heaving ocean, but the night sky, where the stars themselves, I do believe, heave and float and spin in fiery passions of their own; Nantucket!--home, finally, of my soul, found on a platform eight-by-eight, the wooden widow's walk perched like a pulpit atop my house.

Writing a book, I thought, which men often do, but women only rarely, has the posture of sewing. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 20, 2018.
Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette (P.S. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading. "Not just a great thriller, but a wake up call." Try Prime. Naslund's flexible and fascinating narrative then leaps from Una's ordeal (both her baby and her beloved mother die) and an inspiring new friendshipbackward, to the story of her upbringing among relatives who tend a New England lighthouse, apprenticeship at sea disguised as a cabin boy, conflicted first marriage to an increasingly deranged husband, and eventual union with the brooding Ahab, whom even his young wife's resourceful love cannot deflect him from his vengeful pursuit of the white whale he imagines Evil Incarnate.

A desperate to finish it but really don't want to because what will take it's place... kinda book. Nice twist. As for Ahab, really very little of him of him in the book except for her pining their love. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 April 2019, Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 April 2017, In brilliant condition. A winner of the Harper Lee Award and the Southeastern Library Association Fiction award, she is the author of eight previous works of fiction, including Ahab's Wife, a finalist for the Orange Prize. Lots of very slow introspection, interspersed with important events which are dashed off in a paragraph, particularly towards the end when it feels like a desperate rush to tie up everyone's life as quickly as possible. Rescued, Una is wed to one of the young men by the captain of the Pequod, handsome, commanding Ahab, who has not as yet met the white whale that will be his destiny.

I was hopeful for her but she often came off as childish, senseless and stupid with a dash of oh she's wonderful because she had a life inspiring thought. Yesterday, when I tilted my face to the sky, I imaged not the full figure but only his cloudy head, a portrait, glancing back at me over his shoulder.

There, softness of two mattresses comforted me from beneath and warmth of myriad quilts, a cacophony of colors, warmed me from above, but still I worked my feet and legs and twisted my back. Grab this classic piece of American literature today. This P.S. A desperate to finish it but really don't want to because what will take it's place... kinda book. When everything is perfect, the only thing to fear is the truth. Use features like bookmarks, note taking and highlighting while reading Ahab's Wife: Or, … I learned a new word in the first 6 pages. The book that inspired the movie.

Maryann Plunkett brings a spry energy to the production, playing up Una's youthful vibrancy. There's a problem loading this menu right now.

Unable to add item to List. edition features an extra 16 pages of insights into the book, including author interviews, recommended reading, and more. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.