Pendlebury is situated on a ridge overlooking the lower Irwell Valley, almost midway between Manchester and Bolton and is neighboured by Irlams o' th' Height, Pendleton and Clifton. The Langley name is remembered locally by having several streets, Langley Road, Langley Mill and Langley housing estate in Middleton named after the family. Not all artworks are on display.
[Go to accessibility information]. In 2009 Giggs was granted the freedom of Salford. You can find notes again by going to the âNotesâ section of your account. Pendlebury saw extensive coal extraction until the closure of Agecroft Colliery in the 1990s. Art UK is the online home for every public collection in the UK. The surface of the land slopes generally upwards from southwest (Swinton) to northeast (Irwell Valley), from about 120 feet (37 m) to nearly 300 feet (91 m) above the ordnance datum. Lengths of the canal subsided due to mining subsidence; maps from 1881–82 show areas of coal under the canal were bought by the canal company to safeguard it from subsidence.
On the division of the estates, Agecroft, and lands in Pendlebury, became the portion of Anne, who married William Dauntesey, from Wiltshire. In 1666, of the thirty-five hearths liable for tax in Pendlebury, Agecroft Hall the only large house had eleven hearths. [Skip to main navigation] Coal was taken to Bolton, Bury, Radcliffe and Salford, and across the River Irwell to Manchester. Henry Rigby, 15, could have sparked a major incident if gases had ignited from his lighting up in the Salford mine, the court heard.  Ellis was described as Master Sergeant of Salford and a benefactor of Cockersand Abbey. Discover artworks, explore venues and meet artists.
The Greater Manchester Fire and Rescue Service (Fire Brigade) has its headquarters on Bolton Road, between the junctions with Agecroft Road and Hospital Road.  It is one of six Grade I listed buildings in the City of Salford. You can help us tag artworks on Tagger. He was quickly apprehended and given a sharp lesson in health and safety by his furious manager. , At the end of the 19th century, industrialisation swept through the Irwell Valley. Newtown Colliery itself closed in March 1961, with the loss of 476 jobs. For work experience, placements and enquiries, Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window), Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window), Click to share on Google+ (Opens in new window), Click to share on Pinterest (Opens in new window), Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window), Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window), Click to share on Tumblr (Opens in new window), Email: firstname.lastname@example.org or call 0161 789 5377, Independent news website SalfordOnline.com to close, Swinton gymnast Will, 9, gets acrobatic for St Ann’s Hospice, Police are appealing for information after man raped in Manchester city centre, Buses for Eccles line as Metrolink points failure causes chaos, Clifton Hall Colliery disaster of 1885 kills 178, Reports of shots fired at house on Whit Lane Salford. Behind it is a stone wall on which is written: "This cross was erected by Andrew Knowles and Sons to the memory of the brave men from their collieries who laid down their lives for their country A.D. 1914–1918". Visual Geometry Group, University of Oxford.
It was demolished in the 1980s to make way for a small housing estate. Featuring over 200,000 oil paintings by some 38,000 artists.
100 years ago in Salford: Newtown Colliery disaster averted as boy, 15, caught sparking up in pit Pendlebury Colliery, on the north-east side of the A666 Bolton Road, was sunk in 1846 to access several rich coal seams some 1800ft underground.  It lies 4.1 miles (6.6 km) northwest of Manchester city centre, 3.4 miles (5.5 km) northwest of Salford, and 5.9 miles (9.5 km) southeast of Bolton.
Collieries were sunk around Agecroft Hall, railway tracks cut across the manor and a dirty lake formed on the edge of the estate. The plumes of smoke escaped out of the cabin door when a suspicious Rushton walked in, and at the same time young Rigby dashed out in fear for his job.
Pendlebury is formed from the Celtic pen meaning hill and burh a settlement.
A potentially fatal disaster was averted 100 years ago this week after an unthinking teenager worker was hauled in front on magistrates for carrying cigarettes and matches into the Newtown Pit in Pendlebury. Review the copyright credit lines that are located underneath the image, as these indicate who manages the copyright (©) within the artwork, and the photographic rights within the image. Swinton railway station is located just over the boundary in Pendlebury. The structure was dismantled, crated, shipped across the Atlantic, and painstakingly reassembled in Windsor Farms, Richmond, Virginia, USA. Building probably began towards the end of the reign of Henry VII. St John's is also the burial place of Jim Valentine, captain of Swinton Rugby Club, an England rugby union international in the late Victorian era. It was acquired by Vanguard Holdings Ltd in January 2008 and converted into a business centre.